Archived entries for neon indian

Le Miel du Mois: Aout 2011


The monthly mixtape on Et Musique Pour Tous is out for August, featuring Beirut, Chrome Sparks, Air France, Neon Indian, Errors, Wise Blood, and more.

Errors and On-the-Go tracks below for a preview…and for the full tape: Stream or Download as one file for free- click here.)

On-The-Go – In The Wind

Errors – Supertribe

Oh No Ono Surprise at forthebeat’s Spring Show


OH NO ONO are hard to categorize or even explain. I’ll be listening to them and think they remind me a lot of Empire of the Sun, but then I’ll play a different track and something completely different comes to mind. Seeing them live at Union Hall in January, I thought all four of them reminded me of David Bowie in Labyrinth / a 70′s dance party cast to the rising sun…

When you listen to Oh No Ono for the first time, you try to imagine how they might interact on stage and how they might sound live, but seeing them in-person affirmed all of my positive thoughts on this strangely wonderful act. Hailing from Denmark, they are eccentric both musically and aesthetically.

It was a true honor having Malthe Fischer join Hooray for Earth on stage last week at the spring forthebeat show. The night opened with Coma Cinema (visiting from South Carolina), Sunglasses (visiting from Atlanta and just signed to Lefse Records (Neon Indian, Keepaway, etc.), then Hooray For Earth joined by Fischer and members of Zambri, followed by The Royal Chains. The night was amazing. All of the bands rocked and forthebeat wishes we could re-play the evening over and over again. Special thanks to our DJs as well.

Spring’s been good to us, so now we’d like to be good to you:

Oh No Ono – Internet Warrior

Photo Credit: ROB LOUD

Le Miel du Mois: Mars


Wake up, wake up, wake up it’s the 1st of the month so cash your checks and get up – or get down, with Le Miel du Mois: Mars, which, as of today is up on Et Musique Pour Tous!  Click on the tape to listen in full and download the mix for *free* to your itunes + ipod.

Some of forthebeat’s favorite new artists are on there including Coma Cinema, sayCet, Beach House, Hooray for Earth… Complete tracklist below:

1. sayCet – Opal (Error :: Love – Opalowsky Remix)
DCUP – Style (Rainbows Of Death Remix)
3. Gorillaz – Stylo (Alex Metric Remix)
4. Hooray For Earth – Form
Classixx – I’ll Get You (Gigamesh Remix)
6. Coeur de Pirate – Comme des Enfants (Le Matos Andy Carmichael Remix)
7. Air – So Light Is Her Football (Breakbot Remix)
8. Efterklang – Modern Drift
9. Coma Cinema – Cop Caller
10. Beach House – Silver Soul
11. Neon Indian – Should Have Taken Acid With You (Future Rock Remix)
12. Little Dragon – Twice

electronics and a mic…

neon indian


Last night, Neon Indian headlined a sold out show at Mercury Lounge with some amazing supporting acts including Electric Tickle Machine, Toro Y Moi & MNDR.

We’ve seen Electric Tickle Machine about 8 or 9 times (I think…) and every time we’re just as excited as, if not more than, the time before to see this energetic foursome get the party started RIGHT.  If you don’t have their latest album Blew It Again, get it.   The album artwork is also a pretty amazing visual for your collection – you can get it online and/or pick one up at their next show.  Here is a preview.

Toro Y Moi was up next, and although I had heard some of his remixes (like Washed Out’s “Feel It All Around”), I wasn’t sure how he would translate live.  He completely sold me 10 seconds into the first song.  A one man voice accompanying the ambient electronic beats, he had the entire crowd captivated by his performance.  It was groovy and dancey, and I can’t wait to see him perform again.

Neon Indian rocked it, delivering a stellar show.  They sounded just as good live as they do on record.  “Deadbeat Summer,” “Psychic Chasms” and “I Don’t Know If You Know” are my favorite tracks – all played last night – from Neon Indian’s debut album Psychic Chasms.  Alan Palomo’s artistry is an example of why electropop is my favorite genre right now, and probably not getting replaced any time soon…

toro y moi

Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms

Toro Y Moi – Talamak

Electric Tickle Machine – Part of Me

Le Miel du Mois: Decembre

The December mixtape is now up on Et Musique Pour Tous, posted the first of the month, each month.  Click on the tape below to listen:

Tape December

You can download the December mix along with all past months as well as our forthebeat CMJ playlist *for free* by clicking on “telecharger” – just right click, save to your desktop and “open” to play in your iTunes.

Le Miel du Mois: Decembre Track List

1.  Telepathe – Chrome’s On It (Gold Panda Remix)
2.  Charlotte Gainsbourg – Heaven Can Wait (Feat. Beck)
3.  Sébastien Tellier – Divine (Danger Remix)
4.  Mystery Jets – Half  in Love with Elizabeth (Delorean Remix)
5.  Glasser – Apply (Tanlines Remix)
6.  Phoenix – Lisztomania (Alex Metric Remix)
7.  Calvin Harris – I’m Not Alone (Three Fingers Remix)
8.  Soko – I’ll Kill Her (JD7’s Killer Mix)
9. Neon Indian – 6669 (I Don’t Know If You Know)
10.  Fool’s Gold – Nadine (Memory Tapes Version)
11.  Holly Miranda – Waves
12.  Kasper Bjørke – Young Again (Edit)
13.  Bloc Party – Hunting For Witches (Crystal Castles Remix)
14.  Freelance Whales – Starring
15.  Glass Candy – Computer Love
16.  Natureboy – Heart to Fool

Copyright © 2004–2009. All rights reserved.

RSS Feed