Archived entries for mixtape

Shang-Dat Tang


With a name like that you don’t really need an introduction …Shang-Dat Tang is a London based DJ – his mixes on Spotify are great but this 4 hour playlist is a game changer kids- I mean it gets you through ittt

there’s 90s remixes from Brandy to Jill Scott to Janet Jackson mixed in ways that make you forget you played out that track to death – because its back, fresh from vacation, with a new hair do, as been on a diet and is lookin fabulous

Nicolas Jaar – XLR8R Podcast August 2011


this needs no introduction nor explanation. this mix from last year is wonderfully stunningly emotional and his work is about the best thing i’ve listened to on repeat all summer. if you dont know his work, dig in, deep…

Space is Only Noise. His BBC1 Radio Essentials Mix. And this:

New Artist: IV Wolves


The Dance Floor Aint The Only Thing This Mix Got Wet is a 14 track remix by Detroit’s IV Wolves including his reworks of Tyga, SBTRKT, and the Dusty McFly one below that I love:

IV Wolves – Dusty McFly: I’m Out Here (IV Wolves Remix)

Meet/Listen to Mixtape from: Passions


i love this. its so fun and light and i cant stop moving at work while i play this to me myself and my desk while imagining I am on the rooftop and yes there is a sunset. so listen to rooftop sunsets by Passions, from Sydney, Australia.

Also like them on facebook so you can look through their summer faded photos with envy:

Passions – Rooftop Sunsets by Passions
And if you’re in Sydney – 28th of April free rooftop sunset party with Passions and others that looks fun enough to fly over for.

bretonLABS New Mix


Just press play and then get back to work…!!

THE DIAMOND TILE MIX – bretonLABS by bretonlabs

One of our new favorite UK acts, Breton will be next touring in London March 28th, Manchester March 29th and Leeds March 30th.

I saw them earlier this fall, opening for Ghostpoet, at Scala, and as their reputation precedes them of “must see live,” after seeing their performance, I can’t wait to catch them again. Energetic, fun, and such good beats, period.

Jamie xx – Latest ‘Essential’ Mix

jamie xx

Jamie xx’s latest mix for BBC Radio 1.  Jamie xx’s latest “essential” mix includes tracks from Holly Miranda, James Blake, Wiley, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Orbital, and ending with a rework of Radiohead’s “Bloom,” running nearly two hours.  This mix keeps getting better and better as you it. Full track list here.

Jamie xx Essential Mix by Young Turks

A Blogwave Summer Mixtape Vol. 2


The sun is out and it’s time to get your summer mixtape ready.  Lucky for you, dailybeatz has done a lot of the work already.  Last year, they created the first annual Blogwave Summer Mixtape to celebrate their one year anniversary.  Volume two debuts today, featuring summer jams picked by dailybeatz, forthebeat and 21 other blogs.

Head HERE to download the zip file with each of the tracks and/or the mp3 file of one, long, continuous track.  Here’s the track listing… Presents: A Blogwave Summer: Volume Two

1. Dirty Gold – California Sunrise [Aquarium Drunkard]
2. Rubik – World Around You [The Wild Honey Pie]
3. Eternal Summers – Prisoner [The Needle Drop]
4. Tyson – Out Of My Mind [Sheena Beaston]
5. Jesse Ruins – Dream Analysis [dailybeatz]
6. Cults – Abducted [Pretty Much Amazing]
7. Toddla T – Take It Back (Dillon Francis Remix) [The Culture Of Me]
8. Jamaica – Jericho [Sunset In The Rearview]
9. Oregon Bike Trails – High School Lover [You Ain’t No PIcasso]
10. Taragana Pyjarama – Sudanese Blonde [Creamteam]
11. Burnt Ones – Alright (Sha-La-La) [My Old Kentucky Blog]
12. Shabazz Palaces – An Echo From The Hosts That Profess Infinitum [Gorilla Vs. Bear]
13. Black Light Dinner Party – Older Together [We All Want Someone To Shout For]
14. Breakbot – Fantasy (ft. Ruckazoid) [Some Kind Of Awesome]
15. The Naked & Famous – Yound Blood [forthebeat]
16. Two Door Cinema Club – Something Good Can Work (RAC Remix) [The Music Ninja]
17. Rusko – Everyday [Inyourspeakers]
18. The Weeknd – The Morning [Yours Truly]
19. Icona Pop – Manners [Pigeons & Planes]
20. Sean Nicholas Savage – Common Get Off My Mind [Pasta Primavera]
21. Vacationer – Trip [Dipped In Dollars]
22. Cold Cave – Confetti [Tastes Like Caramel]
23. Purity Ring – Ungirthed (Sun Glitters Remix) [Tympanogram]

And if you missed last year’s mix, you can check it out and download it HERE.

Le Miel du Mois Mars 2011


The new Le Miel du Mois from Et Musique Pour Tous is now up for the month of March…two tracks are below as is the link to stream and download the full tape. Some words behind the wisdom:

A 1964 song opens this one. Another track I wanted to single out is Star Slinger’s remix of The Go! Team’s Apollo Throwdown and also the Diamond Messages track, which I fell in love with on the spot when EMPT posted it a few weeks ago. I found 3D Friends when we interviewed the SKINS 19 year old music supervisor from London, you can check out that interview here, and the closer to the mix, White Wishes is another one (all of their material is available to download for free on their bandcamp page)- everything I listen to by them, I love.

For the full tape: download and stream.

The Drums – Me and The Moon (Clock Opera Remix)

Lykke Li – I Follow Rivers (The Magician Remix)

Le Miel du Mois: Decembre


Another month. Another mix. Le Miel du Mois: Decembre features The Generationals, Teen Daze, Stephen Farris, Chappo, Headless Horseman and more.

Favorite tracks: Candy Claws and Young Magic.

Download as one long 50 minute track for free, mixed by EMPT, or listen to the track separately, streaming here.

Support Candy Claws and buy their latest here and Young Magic here.

Young Magic “You With Air” by carparkrecords

Big Sean Cipher Session


Last week, we caught Big Sean at the Def Jam One Stop Shop Cipher Session at S.O.B.s in NYC – a monthly exhibition of raw talent, up-and-coming rap and hip hop artists and recently signed Def Jam artists.  The first in the series, this Cipher Session’s main attraction was Big Sean.  And it was awesome.  We couldn’t spit like the rest of them, but we loved every minute of it. And our indie ears perked up when Sean performed his version of the Hockey song “Too Fake,” which is on his Finally Famous Vol. 3 mixtape and features Hockey along with Chiddy Bang.  You can download the mixtape (came out in September) for free from XXL Magazine HERE.  The recorded version of this song does not do the live show justice, I have to say, so if you get a chance to catch Big Sean, do it.  Also, you’ll get to hear him say my favorite line of the night: I smoke good but I f*ck better.

Big Sean – Too Fake (feat. Hockey and Chiddy Bang

Copyright © 2004–2009. All rights reserved.

RSS Feed