Archived entries for

title not neccessary.

click on a square and then another, and another..

siggggghhhhhh. smile.

New Artist: Purity Ring

purity ring

While their band name signifies chastity, this song oozes sexy.  Purity Ring is Gobble Gobble member Corin Roddick (drums, guitar, keys) and vocalist Meghan James. The two debuted the first single for new project Purity Ring a few months back, which you can find on 7″ debut release from our friends over at Transparent here.  “Lofticries” is the B-side track…

Purity Ring – Lofticries

Cults- Abducted


Cults are one of the best new duos from 2010. With just a 3 song EP released last year, the Brooklyn duo will be releasing  their full length debut album (finally!), In the Name Of, on Columbia Records, May 30. Until then, some tracks have been released here and there for a preview listen, to further the excitement.

“Go Outside” is magical. “The Curse” is retro-ly-intriguing.  “You Know What I Mean” is just cool. And the list goes on and on. Really all of the tracks on the debut album, released so far, are some of the best this year. I’ve posted on a few already, but wanted to be sure to now add the addictive “Abducted” and more so, “Most Wanted,” and “You Know What I Mean.”

Cults – Most Wanted

Cults – You Know What I Mean

Cults: Most Wanted

Cults will be playing with Oberhofer and Puro Instinct this week at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on April 28th for an RSVP Vice Magazine/Noisey event (currently sold out). They’ll also be back, same venue, June 9th.

You can purchase the new single and/or buy a limited 7″ vinyl here.

The Entrance Band

the entrance band

Must. See. Live. Friends and blogs have shouted it all the same. You need to see this band live to get the full experience, and I plan on doing just that when Los Angeles based The Entrance Band come to town this week. They’ll be playing Glasslands on Thursday and also on Friday, opening for The Kills with Cold Cave at Terminal 5.

The Entrance Band- Lookout

Buy tickets to the Glasslands show, with an acoustic set by Amazing Baby, here.

Solo Debut: El Obo

El Obo

El Obo evokes beauty and speaks great volumes through hushed sound…”

The solo project from Colour Revolt frontman Jesse Coppenbarger, El Obo is releasing the Oxford Basement Collection (Esperanza Plantation) on May 10th, after 7 years of writing and recording in his Oxford, Mississippi basement.  Following Colour Revolt’s 2010 release The Cradle, the Oxford Basement Collection is a compilation of Coppenbarger’s material that did not make the “loud rock band” cut, and was ultimately cut from being released by Colour Revolt – but this material is now coming to you as a limited edition (1,000 copies) deluxe vinyl edition that also contains a copy of the album (with bonus tracks) on CD enclosed in the LP jacket.

You can click here to pre-order the album.

El Obo – Vrgn Evl

The Naked and Famous

the naked and famous

“Young Blood” is rightfully so received as the stand out track on The Naked and Famous‘ debut album Passive Me, Aggressive You. I also love the White Sea Remix. This track has been blogged about all over the place, but lesser known tracks “The Sun” and “The Source” deserve the same attention.

While “The Source” is only 48 seconds, it’s a beautiful 48 seconds you’ll want to repeat over and over.

The Naked and Famous- The Source

The Naked and Famous- The Sun

Their next New York show is at Terminal 5 on May 4th. For full tour dates, click here.

Marina & the Diamonds


I love this video.

While I very much love the Clock Opera remix of “I Am Not A Robot”, it’s one of my favorite remixes ever, its nice to go back to the originals sometimes and remember what made them beautiful. The video isn’t much more than Marina singing but the black glitter makeup is magnificent and I wish I had an excuse to mimic this on my left cheek- a warpaint streak, with the red sparkle lips to match.

Marina & the Diamonds will be touring the U.S. starting June 16 in Philly….New York: Webster Hall June 21.

Latest remix addiction: “Obsessions:”

Marina & the Diamonds- Obsession (Jack Deezl Remix)

New from Tom Vek


It’s been 5 years since Tom Vek debuted his first album We Have Sound.  Now, he’s finally preparing to release his follow up Leisure Seizure on Downtown / Island Records on June 7th.

Having shied away from the spotlight following the release of We Have Sound, Vek’s public persona seemed to take on a life of it’s own, and now he’s acknowledging the many characters that have been put to his music in his place.  From a press release: the first single “A Chore” is accompanied by a concept video, which acknowledges the artist’s five-year absence. Having been out of the public eye for so long, Vek takes the role of presenter of T.V. Island, a self-imagined [show where guests] are asked to imagine themselves stranded on a metaphorical island for an hour…characteristically wry, sarcastic and mischievous, the song and video are a fitting analogy – five years [later], the perfect desert island isn’t the place one first imagined.

Here’s “A Chore” and corresponding video as well as an old favorite…

Tom Vek – A Chore by fadedglamourblog

Tom Vek – Nothing But Green Lights

New Album – Siriusmo


Siriusmo’s most recent album Mosaik is exactly what I’ve been missing. Its fast electronic techno that includes everything from house to dubstep and all thats related and in between.

Siriusmo is Moritz Friedrich, from Berlin, and as one of the genre’s leading geniuses, he’s been remixing and producing over the last ten years, releasing several EP’s and now his full length. 17 tracks.

It was difficult to choose just two – be sure to listen to the full album:

Siriusmo- Idiologie
Siriusmo- Signal below:

Tame Impale is almost here

tame impala

Australian band Tame Impala have made it over to the States quite a bit to perform, but if you haven’t caught them yet, now’s your chance.  They are currently on a Spring tour in the U.S. and Canada, which kicked off at Coachella and will head to Webster Hall in New York City on April 25th.

Comprised of Kevin Parker (lead guitar and vocals), Dominic Simper (guitar), Nick Allbrook (bass) and Jay Watson (drums and backing vocals), the band is self-described as psychedelic hypno-groove melodic rock music.  And they say “if Tame Impala’s music reminds you of what you’d want to put on when you next visit your mind’s engine room then they’re happy. If not, whatever, it’s just music.”

Below is the song “Expectation” and corresponding video, which debuted at the end of last year and was filmed outside of Paris during a break from their European tour with a 360 degree camera.

Tame Impala – Expectation

Copyright © 2004–2009. All rights reserved.

RSS Feed